11 Things

Reverb 10 prompt from December 11th:

What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life? (Author: Sam Davidson)

1.  MSN Messenger.  Not that Messenger itself is a bad thing.  I’ve already deleted Messenger from my iPhone and I won’t be going back to it in 2011.  By leaving Messenger in 2010, I also leave behind a relationship that was cultivated there – one that doesn’t represent what I want in my life in 2011 and beyond.

2.  Jealousy.  I believe that being jealous of someone else chips away at my belief that the universe has good things in store for me.  In 2011 I will continue to practice something that Jennifer Clark taught me:  When I feel the hit of envy coming on I say “Good for her/him and thank you for mine”.  In this way, I acknowledge the infinite bounty of the universe and reinforce my belief that my dreams will manifest.

3. Negative self talk.  I would never let someone talk to my best friend the way that I can talk to myself.  In 2011 I will be my own best friend.

4. Spending without a budget.  I’m lucky.  I have a great job and generally enough money to do anything I want.  I do not, however, have enough money to do EVERYTHING that I want, and I need not to spend as though I do.  Brigitte’s budgeting technique really resonates with me and I’m going to get on it.

5. New coats.  Seriously, I bought FOUR coats this fall.  No more new coats will enter this house in 2011.

6. Packaged food.  I’ve done pretty well with this one in 2010 but I reaffirm my commitment to cooking real, fresh food for myself, rather than relying on the convenience of packaged food and take-out.

7. Doubt.  In 2011 I no longer need to doubt my abilities nor my worthiness to attract good things into my life.

8.  Settling.  I will not settle for what I get if I know that it is less than I want and than I deserve.

9.  Trying.  There is no trying.  There is deciding and doing.

10. Cleaning my own bathroom.  Seriously.  I need to hire a cleaning service again.  The budgeting exercise I mentioned in #4 is about spending according to your values.  I value my time and resent spending it on cleaning toilets.  On this I will be spending money.

11. Guilt.  I will not accept feeling guilty for my actions or inactions, including related to numbers 1 through 10 on this list.

This entry was posted in Other Projects, Photo projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 11 Things

  1. Julie says:

    I love your note on jealousy. I think I will use this philosophy myself in the new year as I feel I harbor too much of it and agree with your point that you are only cheating yourself out of what you derserve in life and what you can knowingly achieve.
    Thanks for the words of wisdom and as always, words to live by.

  2. Brigitte says:

    I really enjoy this list! Thank you for mentioning my budgeting process.

    Ps. I, too, choose to spend money on a cleaning service. It’s the best money I spend!

    • Debra says:

      Thanks Brigitte. Your process really resonated with me. So much going on right now but I’m going to dig into it in the New Year.

Leave a Reply

