Enough with the Peep!

That silly Peep has been nagging at me. There it has sat, all yellow and cheery, at the top of my blog home page since Easter. Frickin’ EASTER! Every time I open Safari the Peep mocks. Little yellow creep. I shouldn’t blame the Peep. It’s not the Peep’s fault that I haven’t updated in almost two months.  I’ve thought about updating. I have several half-composed posts ratttling around in my head. They just never made it to the keyboard I suppose I could say I’ve been busy, which is true but not the entire reason that I haven’t posted heree. I have been active elsewhere — Twitter, Flickr, even Facebook and of course in the Picture Series galleries. Also, I have become addicted to instagram, and by extension to iPhoneography. I just haven’t been inspired to be HERE. I’ve been thinking about this little blog and its future. Part of me wants to get a domain and a design and make it into something… more. But then I wonder what exactly I would want to say, not to mention who the heck would read it. Then there’s the fact that most of my creating these days is done with the camera, rather than with the keyboard.

Ah, no matter, I’m here now so I guess I can talk a bit about where I’ve been while I’ve been gone. First, I Unravelled further by delving into Living in My World. I made this collage in the week that we talked about adornment. Anyone who knows me knows that if I’m going to made a statement in my adornment, it’ll be with shoes.

I’m still doing Picture Inspiration, though I punked out on many of the April and May prompts (it was cold, wet and miserable here, people!). This is a favourite from this past week where we were prompted to look for “couples” I loved the way the handlebars of these bikes were intertwined and how their front tires are nuzzling. I recommend you go out and try to notice couples in your day to day. Just like hearts, they are everywhere.

And speaking of hearts, my dear friends took me on a pre-birthday outing to Sandbanks and found for me a fabulous heart-shaped rock while walking on the beach. I do love the beach. Even though the water was lake and not ocean the waves made it close enough for me. All that was missing was the smell of sea air. I do enjoy living in Ottawa but I miss the sea. And the beach.

I ended up totally blowing off Picture Spring but have been pretty steady with Picture Colo(u)r since the beginning of June. This is one of my favourite shots so far.

I totally owe you a post on 30 Days of Yoga. I took the beginners version of this great e-course by the fantastic Marianne Elliot last month and I am still suffering withdrawal from the daily e-mails she sends throughout the course. Like I said, I’ll do a whole post on the experience but SPOILER ALERT: I have been maintaining a daily yoga practice for more than a month. Yup. Daily. Yoga. At 6:15am. Dude.

And finally, because this post is getting hella long, I’m currently taking the You are Your Own Muse e-course with the lovely and talented Vivienne McMaster. Seriously girlcrushing on Viv here people.  The course is about self portraits and as I started to write this post I realized that I’ve written a lot about self portraits here. The course is helping me to push myself further to explore the creative awesomeness of self portraits, including taking them IN PUBLIC. Seriously, I went to the arbouretum at the experimantal farm last weekend, found a spot of pretty sunshine, set up my tripod and went to town (reading that back it sounds a little dirty.. no matter). It was awesome. I’m going back. Maybe with props (heh!). Truth is that it was a terrifying idea to take self portraits outside of my home but once I got into it I was too into it to care. And you can tell since I was dancing arond in front of the camera.

Oh, and one last thing, because it seems this photography obsession knows no bounds, I bought this little darling on eBay. I’m still figuring it out (blown through one pack of film and still trying to get the exposure settings right) but the sound it makes when you push the button is ever so satisfying.

That’s it. I promise not to be gone so long again. In fact, my birthday is just 5 (FIVE!) days away and it will mark the start of a new project that I’ll be sharing here.

This entry was posted in Other Projects, Photo projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Enough with the Peep!

  1. Al says:

    So very impressive! Even as I write this, I must pause and scroll up to see the bikes yet again.

  2. Heidi says:

    Happy to see you back – didn’t you love 30 Days of Yoga?….she’s inspired me to get my teacher training! and Happy Birthday to both of us…I’m the 23rd!

    Cheers~

Leave a Reply

