Love, Lost and Found

One happy bi-product of the photo workshops I’ve done with Tracey Clark is that I’m tuned to notice heart shapes. I take great delight in finding these symbols of love in everyday objects like his palmier.

On the theme of found love, this morning I’ve been reading through the book Missed Connections, Love Lost & Found by Sophie Blackall. It’s a book of illustrations based on Blackall’s blog. Over the past while she’s been creating lovely illustrations based the “Missed Connections” pages on Craigslist.

Each picture is a vignette that, as Blackall says, lets us experience “love, loss, and regret”.

But there’s also hope. She calls it “a hopeless sort of hope” and I suppose that it is. Someone strikes your fancy but you’re unable to act in the moment so you send your regret (and affection) out in the universe in a likely futile effort to recapture the moment and right your wrong. It’s a lovely and dreamy thing for a cold Sunday morning.

I mean, we’ve all had missed connections, right? The guy in the cafe that held the door open, smiled and held eye contact for just a beat longer than was necessary. The woman on the bus who kept glancing up while trying to appear concentrated on her book.

My most memorable missed connection was at a 54/40 concert at the Commodore Ballroom in Vancouver, sometime in the early ’90s. I was standing near the stage and I remember feeling someone very close behind me – so close that I was afraid his cigarette was going to burn my hair. I turned around and he said hi. He was blonde and gorgeous. He grabbed my hand and we snaked through the crowd to find another spot to watch the concert. He stood behind me with his arms around me as we swayed and sang to the music. It’s funny, I don’t remember talking with him… Maybe we were just enjoying the music and figuring we could get to know one another after the concert was over. Unfortunately we never got that opportunity. As the concert was ending a fight broke out just in front of us. I hated bar fights and moved quickly to get as far away from it as I could, splitting from my fellow music lover in the process. My friends found me before I could find him. Allison was recovering from wisdom tooth surgery and was in no mood to wait around while searched. I reluctantly followed them out of the club and rode home daydreaming of my missed connection and the way he sang in my ear.

Have you had a missed connection?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Love, Lost and Found

  1. This is such a neat post! I really like your photography and I’ve added Sophie Blackall’s book to my Amazon wish list. Love your missed connection story, none of mine are nearly that good ;)

  2. twesely says:

    you are a such a good friend! awesome story.

Leave a Reply

