Gratitude


Well, here goes!  I finally got this blog going as a place to share two projects that I’m undertaking this month (I mean besides the making of the croquembouche for holiday dinner!).  Because December isn’t busy enough with the decorating and the parties and the travelling and the preparing for more travelling I decided to sign up for the “Picture the Holidays” course from Big Picture Classes AND to participate in reverb2010.  Stick with me to see if I keep up with the daily photo and writing challenges (guess I’m bringing the Macbook to England!).

The idea with the Picture the Holidays course is that I take a photo every day through the month based on an assigned theme.  The theme for the day arrives in my e-mail inbox in the morning and I interpret it and (hopefully) post a photo that I’m proud of.  Today’s theme was gratitude.

I have recently started a practice of expressing my gratitude to the universe when I see something that I want but have yet to manifest in my own life.  Babies and pregnant women, in particular, prompt me to offer up a quiet “thank you”.  I am particularly grateful for THIS pregnant woman because she is a dear friend and her baby girl will be a much-loved member of my extended family.  I am also grateful TO her for letting me take pictures of “the bump” during lunchtime!

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Photo projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude

  1. Pingback: Life List Update | Manifeisty

Leave a Reply

