One Word

I debated whether or not to sign up for Reverb 10.  When I first heard about it, I didn’t have a blog (and this is still very much a work-in-progress).  It’s not like I’m swimming in spare time this month either.  But I couldn’t let it go.  After the year I’ve had, how could I pass this up?

Reverb 10 is an annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next. The end of the year is an opportunity to reflect on what’s happened, and to send out reverberations for the year ahead.

So here’s the deal.  Every day in December I will try my very best to respond in some way to the Reverb 10 prompt, right here on this blog.  I invite everyone to play along with me by joining at Reverb 10 or adding to the comments below.

Today’s prompt comes from Internet rock star Gwen Bell.

Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

My word for 2010 is Unravelling.  I’ve spent a lot of 2010 trying to figure out who I am if I am not my job.  I’ve tried hard not to fight my situation but to live with it and IN it and to use this opportunity to get to know myself better and to define what I want my life to be.  Key to this work has been the Unravelling e-course taught by the ultimately awesome Susannah Conway.  Unravelling is such a great descriptor for this work.  I’m pulling apart years worth of self-talk and self-medicating and denial and role playing to get to the real core of ME and figure out where to go from here (and hopefully how to get there).

My word for 2011 will be Open.  I will be open to new experiences.  I will be open to new ideas.  I will be open to receiving feedback.  I will be open to learning about the world and about myself.  I will be open to new people coming into my life.  Most of all I will be open to *whispers* love.

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Other Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One Word

  1. Susannah says:

    ohhh, honey, i’m thrilled that Unravelling is your word! 🙂

    ‘Open to love’ – you know i am with you on that intention too! xxxx

    • Debra says:

      Susannah, you have no idea what it means to me that you are the first commenter on this blog. I am so grateful to have your work and what you have created for all of us Unravellers in my life. Your awesomeness knows no bounds!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Debra, I’m so impressed! You’ve inspired me today. I love this Reverb idea, and love that you just jumped in and started your blog. Hurray!

  3. Ann says:

    This is great, Debra! And your blog looks so nice. I hope you find all kinds of possibility this year! I like this idea and might have to join. I think my word for this past year would be “questioning” and I’d like it to be “answering” this time next year! See you on Flickr!

  4. Nanette says:

    Debra, Congratulations on getting your blog going!! Its beautiful! I do not have mine going yet but you have newly inspired me! Keep up the great work and I can’t wait to see all of your responses to Reverb 10!!

  5. Pingback: Community | Manifeisty

  6. Pingback: Defining Moment | Manifeisty

  7. Heidi says:

    As your fellow unraveller, I cheer both of your words…outgoing and incoming! I also applaud all the hard work you’ve done in 2010 and looking forward to reading about the journeys ahead….cheers to you!

  8. Pingback: One Little Word | Manifeisty

Leave a Reply

