On Writing

Today’s Reverb 10 prompt:

Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it? (Author: Leo Babauta)

I admit that when I first read this prompt this morning I thought that it wasn’t applicable to me.  I mean, I’m not a writer.  Karen Walrond? She’s a writer with a bona fide book launch today!  That’s not me.  Other people are writers. Not me.  Later I remembered an interview that I had read with Gwen Bell where she talked about writing at the beginning of each day and then I remembered having read other things about using writing to unlock your creativity, in general.  Certainly the writing I’ve done for Unravelling has unlocked things for me… So I guess you can see where I’m going with this… Late in the day I’ve decided that today’s reverb 10 prompt DOES apply to me.  And here’s my response:

I don’t bloody know what gets in the way of my writing.  I was quick to blame my DVR and the raft of stupid crap tv that is stacking up within it.  But while the DVR is probably a contributor, I think it is more a symptom than a cause.  When I get right down to it, I just find ways to keep myself busy so that the writing doesn’t get prioritized and then doesn’t get done.  I think it’s the perfectionist in me (again!) that keeps me from trying to write something that turns out to be less brilliant than I think I am (clearly this blog is helping me get over THAT).

So, my commitment, in addition to deleting the entire season of House from my DVR, which I have recorded but never watched (sorry Hugh Laurie, love you!), is to write every day, either here or in my journal.  I don’t know that I want to become a writer but I do know that the only way to become better at writing is to write.  So that is what I will do.

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Other Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Writing

  1. Heidi says:

    my dear, good for you!…something I read recently was that a “writer writes to discover what they have to say.”

    Looking forward to reading!

Leave a Reply

