Make

Today’s Reverb 10 prompt:

What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make but you need to clear some time for it? (Author: Gretchen Rubin)

The last thing I made was a batch of maple shortbread cookies.  I made them with flour, sugar, maple syrup and the secret ingredient suggested and which I googled then drove 20 minutes to a random store to find maple flakes.  I also used my beloved red KitchenAid. They are not terribly photogenic this year (hence the pretty sugar cookie pictured above, which I also made, BTW)  as I took the easy way out and did not roll and cut them into pretty maple leaves.  Everyone knows I love the pretty but when something tastes this good it doesn’t have to be pretty.

I love that I’ve gotten in the habit of cooking and baking things from scratch over the past year.  There’s something about feeding people and having them appreciate not only the taste of something that you’ve made but the effort and the care that went into making it for them.  This applies to feeding myself as well.  I used to buy a lot of packaged food because it seemed easier than trying to scale a recipe to feed just one person.  I’ve learned that cooking real food CAN be easy.  Slight aside: Seriously, how did I not learn how to roast a chicken until I was 40?  People, you stick the bird in a pan, chuck it in the oven for an hour while you nap, clean, whatever and voila, awesome chicken for the whole week!  It’s a revelation.  Anyhow, if you compare a meal cooked with real, fresh ingredients that you can name without having a science degree to one from a package?  Cooking for yourself wins.  Every.  Time.

Now, onto what I would like to make.  I want to make a Christmas banner (a few, actually) – the kind with the paper flags strung with ribbon.  I bought lovely paper and ribbon after searchng Etsy to see if I could just buy some ready-made but I just haven’t managed to get them done.  We shall see what this week brings…

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Other Projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Make

  1. this is the cutest cookie picture ever. i am debating whether or not to start baking….so much work and so many calories 🙂

  2. CeCe says:

    Hi Debra! I’ve discovered food from scratch too…it’s like a big, yummy secret 🙂 Love the picture of the cookie! Cookies like that would be eaten in a day around here.

Leave a Reply

