Community

Let’s face it, some days I’d just rather stay in bed. (Photo taken this morning for Picturing the Holidays.  Prompt: Express Yourself and how you feel today).

However, I did not stay in bed as there was work to be done and today’s Reverb 10 prompt to be attended to:

Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010?  What community would you like to join, create, or more deeply connect with in 2011? (Author: Cali Harris)

Thank you Cali Harris for an EASY one, and for the opportunity to evangelize (again) about Susannah Conway’s Unravelling!  I wrote a bit on Day 1 of Reverb 10 about how important the Unravelling course was to my personal growth in 2010.  What I didn’t mention is that the work you do as an individual Unraveller is supported, not only by Susannah but by an amazing community of fellow Unravellers.  I am so grateful and proud to have been part of the Unravelling tribe that came together in Fall 2010.  I had never participated in an online community before.  I was a reader of many blogs but had never left a comment or participated in a dialogue online.  I don’t know what I expected but these are some of the things I got:

  • Unconditional and unwavering support
  • Understanding
  • Empathy
  • Encouragement
  • Praise
  • Ideas
  • Inspiration
  • Connection

I’m a pretty novice photographer and the fact that these creative, brilliant, inspriational women found aspects of my work and the sentiment behind it to be interesting, or even inspirational, was and is still humbling for me.  There is such warmth in that community and when it shines its light on me it is wonderful and sometimes overwhelming.  I’ve shared thoughts with this Unravelling tribe that I had never voiced before, not even to my best friends (though I expect my friends already know because they ARE my best friends and really, I’m not as mysterious as I wish I were sometimes).  And it goes on.  The course is over but the community carries on.  And true to form, Unravellers are supporting me this little blog endeavour with their comments, for which I am so very grateful.

In 2011 I will continue to be present and participate in our Unravelling community.  I want to go back to the blogroll and read those blogs that I haven’t gotten to yet and to pay forward the blog love that I’ve received.  I also want to immerse myself more in the online community of inspirational writers, some of whom I knew of before the course and others I’ve learned of or are learning of now.  I’m learning that there is a big community of people doing really inspirational work and I want to do more than soak it all in.  In 2011 I want to engage and give back.

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Community

  1. Heidi says:

    yippee for Unravelling! I wholeheartedly agree with the support we gave and received during our journey..looking forward to watching you engage and give back!

  2. Ann says:

    I second, or third? the yippee for Unravelling! Your writing is really beautiful and I look forward to reading more of your inspirational words in 2011!

  3. I am joining Susannah and Unraveling for the first time in January and am so excited to finally carve out space that is special just for me, something I have wanted to do for so long. Thank you for this beautifully written post, it makes me excited for what is to come.

    Hannah

  4. Pingback: Wisdom | Manifeisty

Leave a Reply

