Beautifully Different

Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up.  Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find that they’re what make you beautiful (Author: Karen Walrond)

And just when I’m comfortable basking in the glow of yesterday’s question and how easily the answer flowed for me, they hit me with this.  Damn those Reverb 10 people with their thought-provoking and their comfort-zone-pushing!  I’ve been thinking about this a lot today (in between meetings and reading and approving things – you know, the work I’m paid to do all day) and while I can come up with a few key things that I know I’m good at – brokering compromise, storytelling, gift-wrapping – I get hung up on what really makes me different from other people I know who are also good at these things.  And I get really hung up on the “what you do that lights people up” part of the challenge.  I feel that’s the key.  I truly feel that to be my best self (ugh, that sounds so Oprah and even though I lover her, ugh) I need to be somehow of “service” to others.  The more I think about this, I feel that figuring out what this thing is within me that I can offer up could unlock something huge for me.  I’m going to take Karen’s advice and do some more thinking and some more reflecting on this one.  I’ll let you know when I figure it out.

In the meantime, I’ve been inspired by my fellow Picture the Holidays participants to play a little with my camera…

 

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Other Projects, Photo projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beautifully Different

  1. Heidi says:

    gorgeous photos, brilliant light…I wrote my Reverb post quick and spontaneous the other morning and then journaled a bit more on the bus. I was also getting hung up on what make me different from someone else who is doing the same thing I’m good at…after I looked at the list in my journal, this is what I came up with, some one else may be good at all the same things I am, but the “Heidi” or “Debra” package is what makes us unique – it’s how we put all those individual elements together that make us beautifully different!

    • Debra says:

      Heidi, I do agree with you and it strikes me that I would tell my best friend exactly that, if she were to ask. When it comes to me though I still struggle with the vanity issues and the “who do you think you are?” Working on it.

Leave a Reply

