Party(?)

Today’s Reverb 10 prompt:

What social gathering rocked your socks off in 2010?  Describe the people, music, food, drink, clothes, shenanigans. (Author: Shauna Reid)

Just yesterday, as I was drooling over these shoes, I lamented that even if I did want to spend nearly $1000 on shoes, I wouldn’t have anywhere to wear them.  There is no need for anything so fancy in my life.  The photo above is my party dress.  So pretty and yet worn only once to a work party that was hardly worthy of its loveliness.  As much as I pine for fancy parties with flowing champagne and sparkling conversation, I expect that my actual level of enjoyment of a party like that would not live up to the fantasy.  In fact, I’m rather satisfied with my social life, which looks something like this:

  • “The peeps” aka two of my closest friends, their husbands, and I gather for festivities beginning around 4:30pm
  • Wine is poured and consumed
  • Babies are held, children are played with and talk of adult matters (often, it must be said, centred around my dating life) is done in code
  • Wine is poured and consumed
  • Babies and children are put to bed
  • Wine is poured and consumed
  • Talk of my dating life continues without code.  Mocking ensues.
  • WAY too much food is prepared and subsequently eaten (seriously, you would think that after all this time we would be able to accurately estimate how much we will want to eat)
  • Wine is poured and consumed
  • Everyone assumes their assigned position at the table and the cards are dealt
  • More wine is poured and consumed
  • The game will play out differently each time but some things are constant, like:
    • M will bid zero.  A lot.
    • We will call each other Dude.  A lot.
    • R and I will bring up the time K made the only bid he felt was reasonable stupidest bid and totally screwed us
    • There will be much talk about screwing people without buying them dinner, in front of their spouse, etc.
    • Which will bring up more discussion of my dating life
    • R will instigate M into saying something totally inappropriate (often about my dating life)
    • I will, at some point in the game, be in last place (delightfully termed “sucking hind teet”)
    • An old inside joke will be beaten to death.  Again.
  • At around 11pm kids will be gathered and, half awake, be bundled into car seats for the ride home.

The above scenario is repeated several times a year (though not often enough, if you ask me) and on a rotating basis between three houseolds.  It may not be a fancy party but it suits us perfectly.  Chances are, if we did go to a big, fancy party the five of us would be sitting in a corner talking about my dating life and beating an old joke to death, just wearing nicer clothes.

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Other Projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

