Appreciate

Today’s Reverb 10 prompt:

What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it? (Author: Victoria Klein)

In some ways this has been a tough year for me and yet there is so much about my life that I appreciate.  I am grateful for the teachers that have come into my life over the past year and for the inspiration that I have been able to take from them.  I appreciate very much the generosity of my parents, who chose to share an inheritance with me that has allowed me a new level of financial freedom.

When it comes to what I appreciate most though, the answer is clear; my friendships.  I am so very grateful to have close friends around whom I can totally be myself and on whom I can count without question.  We celebrate each others’ successes and offer counsel for each others’ challenges.  We laugh about everything.  They are my strongest defenders and my reality check when my shit is less than together.

If you were to ask them, they would likely say that I show my gratitude in baked goods.  While it is true that a cupcake is a fine way to say “I love you and I appreciate you” I try to augment the effects of flour and sugar by being for them what they are for me.

* Friends depicted above are a representative sample (i.e., even if you’re not in the photo, if you think I mean you, I do).

 

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Appreciate

  1. Celina Wyss says:

    That photo symbolizes a true moment. Real, lively, fun. Love it!

Leave a Reply

