Five Minutes

Today’s Reverb 10 prompt:

Imagine you will completely lose your memory of 2010 in five minutes. Set an alarm for five minutes and capture the things you most want to remember about 2010.(Author: Patti Digh)

When I did this exercise there were a few moments that came to mind, including the day I took my niece Emily to the aquarium, but when I thought about what I really needed to remember, it wasn’t the moments, it was the realizations.  As I’ve said before, 2010 was a year of self-exploration and self-discovery for me.  Throughout the year I turned a few hard and fast-held beliefs about myself right on their heads.  I’m different now than I was at the beginning of the year.  I want different things for my life.  I believe different things about myself.  I recognized patterns in my thinking and my behaviour that have been keeping me stuck in a place I now realize I no longer want to be.  If I were to forget everything else about 2010, I would want to keep hold of these realizations and carry them forward into 2011.

(The beautiful porcelain milk bottle vases in the photo are handmade by Alyssa Ettinger.  I wish that I could afford to fill my home with her work)

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Other Projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Minutes

  1. Bob D. says:

    “I recognized patterns in my thinking and my behaviour that have been keeping me stuck in a place I now realize I no longer want to be. ” – Every personal growth spurt in my adult life has begun with precisely this realization. Wishing you all the best as you carry yours forward into the new year…

Leave a Reply

