Travel

I was expecting to write today’s blog post at the airport and publish it just before I got on the plane to go to England to spend Christmas with my family.  Unfortunately, with the situation at Heathrow being what it is, we decided to hedge our bets yesterday and came to the family decision that I should cancel my flight.  Fortunately my Christmas will not suck (will spend it with lovely friends, as usual) and neither will theirs (grandparents with grandchildren, etc.) but it wasn’t what we had planned.  Of course that Reverb 10, she is the mistress of cruel irony.  Today’s prompt is:

How did you travel in 2010?  How and/or where would you like to travel next year?(Author: Tara Hunt)

See what I mean?  Travel is one of my favourite subjects but I have to write about it TODAY of all days?  Seems that I do.

While travel has been a constant and definining feature of my life for much of the past 10 years, in 2010 I focused more of my attention (and $$) on the homefront.  After years of choosing to spend my annual bonus on travel over home improvement, in 2010 I did a full-on redecoration of my home.  I did manage two trips though.  In February I went to Cayo Coco, Cuba for a week with the lovely Stephanie.  The word for the week was “sloth”.  We did a whole lot of nothing, except lay on the beach.  I read 6 books.  The highlight of the week for me was reading Eat, Pray, Love while listening to Death Cab and watching the waves.  Heaven.  I also made the annual pilgrimage to the family homestead out west.  This was a short visit and I spent most of my time with the family, notable exceptions being.

But 2011?  That’s going to bust the doors off of 2009 and 2010 in the travel department.  January 7th kicks off three weeks in South Africa.  I am beyond excited.  As when I went to India, I am going with a small tour group run by a company with what I veiw to be ecologically and socially sound values and practices.  There will be safaris.  There will be beaches.  There will be wine.  There will also be a 29-hour journey to get there, including a 6-hour layover in Gabon, but I’m trying to block that part out for now.

Aside from that, the cancelled Christmas trip means that I will have some vacation time to carry over and a credit with Air Canada.  I’ll definitely go back to Vancouver in the summer, and we’ll see where else I might fancy going.  New York would be cool…

The photo below is apropos of nothing in this post but I took it yesterday in the hope that putting on the Santa hat would help me reframe for the holidays after cancelling my trip.  Love the photo but I am seriously allergic to the hat!!

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Other Projects, Photo projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

