New Name

* I know, two self-portraits in two days.  I may be running out of steam in pairing prompts with photos…  But I think this one fits because while I love this photo, I don’t quite recognize it as “me”.

Today’s Reverb 10 prompt:

Let’s meet again, for the first time.  If you could introduce yourself to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why? (Author Becca Wilcott)

When I was younger I really disliked my name.  It was just so ROUND.  I wanted a name with letters that were taller, and more svelte.  Could I get some l’s or maybe some t’s?  I also detested my name for being so very common.  Back in the “Debbi” days during college, after a round of introductions the prof threw out a question and called on me.  I felt good that I had made some kind of impression during the intros.  Then I heard him say “There’s a Debbie in this class, right?  There’s a Debbie in every class.”  Ouch!  At this point, having made the switch back to Debra, or Deb, I’ve embraced my name (though not people who call me Debbie).  But if I could change it…

I think it would have to be something starting with an S.  S is a sexy letter.  And maybe it should have a French vibe.  Something that connotes effortless chic and cool.  Oooh, and maybe a little mystery.

Hi.  I’m Sophie.

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Other Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Name

  1. Pingback: Feeding the Soul | Manifeisty

Leave a Reply

