Feeding the Soul

Today’s Reverb 10 prompt:

Soul Food:  What did you eat this year that you will never forget? What went into your mouth & touched your soul? (Author: Elise Marie Collins)

The photo above is from my ill-fated food blog.  I’ve learned to cook and it turns out I’m quite good at it but I’ll leave food blogging to other people.  I’ll still dabble in food photography though, I’m sure.

In 2010 I learned to braise short ribs in red wine (and in the process crossed off a Life List item).  These short ribs were served with white beans and kale.  They tasted amazing – almost as amazing as my house smelled while they were cooking.

So I skipped two Reverb 10 posts while I was off celebrating Christmas but frankly, I had nothing to add for them anyhow:

December 24th:

Everything’s OK What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead? (Author: Kate Inglis)

While I sit comfortably in the belief that everything is going to be alright, I received no proof of such in 2010.  I’m just going on faith here.

December 25th:

Sift through all the photos of you from the past year. Choose one that best captures you; either who you are, or who you strive to be. Find the shot of you that is worth a thousand words. Share the image, who shot it, where, and what it best reveals about you. (Tracey Clark)

Tracey Clark happens to be our instructor for Picture the Holidays so it’s fun that she’s also the author of this prompt.  There are very few photos of me from this year or any recent time.  Like many people, I am no fan of having my photo taken.  However, thanks to Unravelling, I am becoming more and more a fan of taking self portraits.  In fact, my two favourite photos of myself already appear on this blog, here and here.

And finally, for today, we were asked to take a photo to represent “The Day After”.  I’ll admit that I generally read these prompts (and the Reverb ones) on my iPhone before I even get out of bed (I like to relax and ponder).  Because Allison is well-organized, I was a bit disappointed that there would be no carnage waiting for me went I went downstairs this morning.  I was pleased to find this:

This report filed live from in front of the tree, where whole neighbourhoods of gingerbread were wiped out in yesterday’s festivities.

I hope everyone had a wonderful few days.  We’re heading into the final stretch of 2010 (and Reverb 10).

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Other Projects, Photo projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

