Ordinary Joy

Today’s Reverb 10 prompt:

Our most profound joy is often experienced during ordinary moments. What was one of your most joyful ordinary moments this year? (Author: Brene Brown)

Before I respond to today’s prompt, I want to say a bit about the prompt author, Brene Brown.  Do yourself a favour and click on that link.  It’s a 20 minute video of Brene Brown speaking at TEDxHouston.  It’s amazing.  Go watch it.  I’ll wait.  While you’re away you may want to stop by amazon or somewhere and pick up her book.  I have it loaded on my Kobo for my trip.

Anyhow, back to my response to the post…

There have been many moments of joy on ordinary days over the past year but one in particular comes to mind.  My niece Emily is obsessed with the Disney princesses and is constantly staging elaborate recreations of the stories where she acts as writer, director and, of course, leading lady.  During family visits we’ve become quite accustomed to assuming our assigned roles.  One morning last summer my parents and I were having breakfast when Emily, as Snow White announced that she was taking a walk in the woods.  Simultaneously and without so much as a glance at one another, my parents and I each laid down our cereal spoon and struck a tree pose.  A princess needs a proper forest.  Joyful.

*Today’s photo was taken for Picture the Holidays.  We were instructed to go outside and shoot in the fresh air.  Well it was fresh alright, at -18 with wind chill.

 

 

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Other Projects, Photo projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ordinary Joy

  1. Debra~ I’m LOVING your blog! I don’t know what else to say
    except I feel inspired by your insights and honesty. I want to
    follow suit in doing the Reverb 10 prompts~ such a great way to
    start the New Year. xo

    • Debra says:

      The blog love is mutual Jessica! Also, seems they are going to continue Reverb in some way all year. You can sign up for updates at their website.

Leave a Reply

