Crossing the Threshold into 2011

Attraversiamo (Italian for “let’s cross over” – with thanks to Elizabeth Gilbert)

I took the above photo for Picture the Holidays, in response to the prompt “Now, there’s no looking back” and inspired by one of my fellow participants.  The more I look at it, the more I love it (and not just because those red shoes are damn HOT).  It seems such a great metaphor.  The foot in the “past” is clear and it reflects what is being left behind while the foot in the future is unfocused and represents the uncertainty of what’s to come in the new year.  I also think that it conveys the forward momentum that I’m feeling.

So, I’m a day behind in terms of addressing the final Reverb 10 prompt of the year. Before I do, I’d like to say a huge thanks to Gwen, Kaileen, and Cali for conceiving of this wonderful thing. Thanks too, to all of the authors who provided the daily prompts. Finally, thanks to the other participants who came here to read and leave thoughtful comments on this blog. I have been inspired by your words.

I’ve had difficulty figuring out how to address the prompt.

Core Story: What central story is at the core of you, and how do you share it with the world? (Author: Molly O’Neill)

I don’t think that anyone who has read my previous posts would be surprised to hear that I can’t articulate my central story at the moment.  The sense that I’m transitioning into something (someone?) different from what has been is pretty huge in my life right now.

I expect my new story to develop as the year unfolds and I expect I’ll be documenting it here.  I’m thinking that this would be a good start:

Happiness.
Hit her
like a train on a track.
– Florence and the Machine (Dog Days are Over)

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Other Projects, Photo projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crossing the Threshold into 2011

  1. Celina Wyss says:

    Those shoes are very hot. Love it!

  2. Brigitte says:

    Wow….I so want to steal those lines now. Such a powerful statement, to match a fiery image!

Leave a Reply

