Seeing Red


You may not have noticed but in yesterday’s post on my word for 2011, I did a little “try-on” of my colour for the new year.  I hadn’t thought of picking a colour for 2011 but, inspired by the lovely Susannah, I’ve been giving it some thought.

Having given my intentions for 2011 a lot of thought, including how I plan to manifest Open in my life this year, I was immediately drawn to red.  I wouldn’t say that I’ve ever been red.  Pink has always been my colour, though red has been popping up in my day-to-day more often lately.  I’ve even switched out my standard pink lipgloss for a red called “Gothic”.

Pink is pretty. Red is hot.  Pink is quiet. Red is bold.  Pink is nice. Red takes no prisoners.  Pink is ballerina flats. Red is four inch stiletto heels.  Pink blends in. Red stands out.  Pink whispers. Red lives out loud.  Pink likes. Red loves.  Pink is a peck on the cheek. Red is a kiss that would make your grandma blush.

Yeah.  2011 is definitely red.

And to add a little red to your life, here is fabulous Canadian band Hey Rosetta with Red Heart.  I love this song to a ridiculous level and am compelled to belt it out at the top of my lungs whenever it comes on, with apologies to any people or animals that happen to be in the vicinity.

The last line is my absolute favourite:

Honey you look so good when you’re laughing

Here’s to much laughter and letting [my] red heart show in 2011.

 

 

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seeing Red

  1. carla says:

    Love it… Red is one of my all time fave colors!

  2. elinjanne says:

    You make me believe I want a color for 2011. With the word
    open and the color red… I bet 2011 will be a good year.

Leave a Reply

