Into Africa

To kick off 2011 I planted my feet in the tall grasses of sub-Saharan Africa for the first time.

I haven’t yet decided how and what I want to write about my travels around South Africa.  The 48-ish hours that I have been home have been filled with the routine of laundry, groceries, cleaning and general re-compression.  Once I have gained a few more days of perspective I will write in depth about some of my favourite experiences.  To sum up, here are some trip stats: 3 weeks; 29 hours in transit to get there; 14 travel companions; 4500 kms driven around South Africa; 11 hotels; and one small backpack (resulting in countless loads of laundry done in various hotel bathrooms).

I took well over 1000 photos and will continue to sort through them but for today I’ll post some of my favourites of the animals.  I feel so very grateful to have seen these magnificent animals in the wild, and so close up.

For the record, below you will see four of the “Big Five” (lions, elephants, buffalo, and rhino).  The leopard proved elusive but as I said in the last post, I’m crossing “Photograph the Big Five on safari in Africa” off the Manifeisty Life List in any event.

Big daddy lion in Kruger Park

Lion cub, Kruger

Mama lion, Kruger

Lion chilling after lunch (See the blood on the paws?), Kruger

Rhino, Kruger

Buffalo

Elephant, Kruger

Elephants, Addo (this was a great moment in the trip that I’ll write about in more detail)

Elephants, Addo

Giraffe, Kruger

Giraffe, Kruger

Zebra, Kruger

 

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Into Africa

  1. Celina Wyss says:

    Amazing! The one with the giraffe walking is my absolute favorite!

Leave a Reply

