Here

Well, I’m not going to sugar-coat it.  February has been an old-fashioned letdown.  I suppose it had to be really, when you consider that I spent January on this amazing vacation.  Add to that the crappy weather, the less-than-inspirational work, a romantic disappointment (a shot for everyone who saw that coming, and two for me who not only saw it coming but walked straight towards it!) and it all makes for a February I’d pretty much rather forget.  It also doesn’t make for interesting blogging.  The (rather shameful) fact is that I’ve hardly left my house except for the necessities.  Even the time in my house has been spent consuming some combination of TV and cookies.

I have given some thought to this blog and what I want to do here, going forward.  I really loved the stuff I was writing in response to the Reverb10 prompts but without those prompts as context and inspiration, I’m not sure how to organize some of the stuff in my head into posts.  Also, while it felt good and authentic to bare my soul in responding to the prompts, to do so “unprompted” as it were, seems narcissistic over-sharey odd. 

That said, I don’t want to give up on this space.  As I mentioned, the Reverb folks will be sending prompts on a monthly basis throughout the year, which I may write on.  There is also plenty of inspiration out there in the blogsphere that I will look to tap into. 

For the next little while I may focus the blog around my photography.  I have signed up for three new projects that will all start in the coming weeks.  These should keep me pretty glued to my camera and hopefully inspire me to share some images and thoughts here.

Mostly I’m just looking forward to Spring.

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here

  1. Celina Wyss says:

    Yay! I look forward to seeing you in Unravelling II and in Picture Inspiration!

  2. debra–thx for stopping by my blog! i totally understand what you are saying in this post. in the month since picture winter has ended, i’ve not been nearly as inspired. i’m looking forward to picture inspiration. i’m interested in your experience with unravelling. did you take #1? how was it? i thought about registering but didn’t know enough. would love to hear your thoughts. all the best and see you at PI!

Leave a Reply

