Home

Unravelling 2 Living in My World started last week.  It’s so lovely to be back with an Unravelling community full-time.  This past week Susannah has had us thinking about home.  As I was taking pictures around the house I realize that not only have I not had the post-reno/redeco party I promised but I haven’t even really shared the space as it is now.

The collage above brings together a few of my favourite vignettes and pieces. First is my spot on the new sofa.  I love that the room is big enough to hold this sofa and that I finally have my chaise.  The second image is my favourite view from my spot on the chaise.  My entire design sensibility is pretty much encapsulated in that little vignette — modern, pretty, quirky, vintage-y, and sparkly/shiny. Speaking of quirky, meet Bucky.  He’s my cardboard deer head and he hangs over my TV.  I love him.  Interestingly as well, every man who has come to my house also loves him. The last image is, of course my Keep Calm poster.  I love having this in my home.

My dining room table was the only piece of furniture on the main floor that didn’t get sold or given away.  Frankly, I think that someone is going to have to pry this from my cold, dead hand.  I love it.  I love that it’s made of old barn board so any wear and tear that I could give it only makes it better.  I love that it seats 8.  I mostly love when the people I love are sitting around it (now in new modern, Eames-style chairs).

Upstairs I made a few changes in the bedroom.  First I had it painted.  Inspired by AB Chao’s bedroom I swapped out the chocolate brown for grey in Farrow and Ball’s Down Pipe.  Love.  Between the artwork and the new duvet cover, this room fully embraces “put a bird on it” decor (if you have not seen the clip at that link, do yourself a favour and click).

All in all I couldn’t be more happier with my “new” home.  It really feels like me right now.  Inspired by so many great decor blogs I found some great artists on Etsy and elsewhere and I’ve been able to add some great little touches around the place.  I feel like I’ve “curated” my home, which is not to say that it feels like a museum, just that everything here is something that I find to be interesting and beautiful.  I’m a lucky girl.  I really should have that party.

If anyone is interested, here are some of the stores/artists, etc. where I sourced my stuff:

– Sofa, Jane by Gus Modern, bought at Blueprint Home (sofa pillows from Blueprint as well)
– “Ghost” chair from Mikaza Home (also TV cabinet, cow-skin rug, coffee table, dining chairs).  Clearly I love their stock.  We’re on a first name basis.
– Lamp, Pottery Barn, who very kindly shipped it up from the Toronto Store, sans hassle
– Bucky, Cardboard Safari (I painted him black)
– “Keep Calm” poster, SFGirlbybay
– “EAT” linen napkins, Emmerson Made
– Duvet cover, “Hedgerow” by Dwell Studio from Modern Karibou

Also, not pictured but I feel lucky to own a piece of artwork by Toronto Artist Neil Young (Rise and Shine 3).  I first saw Neil Young’s work a couple of years ago at Art in the Park here in Ottawa.  It was a good thing that I didn’t have my chequebook with me that day because I would’t have been able to stop myself from buying (I also wouldn’t have been able to pay bail for writing a bad cheque).  His work stayed with me and I’m glad that I was able to get a piece this year.  It’s beautiful and I love it.

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

