1/365

So, THAT happened.  I turned 42 yesterday.  I’ve actually kind of been waiting for this.  It’s not a big deal number but it feels like a big deal birthday. It feels like a shift. 41 was such a year of change for me, even though that might not be obvious to others. Nothing in my external world has changed. I have the same job and the same home. In fact, most things around me are exactly the same as they were one year ago. It is me that has changed. This has been a huge year for me, in terms of getting in touch with, embracing and finally living my authentic self. It hasn’t been easy but I can really say that I am in the best, happiest place I have ever been.

This past year has felt a bit like a staging period — like the prep time before the big show. I’m excited to see what next year holds. I’ve also decided to document this next year in a special way.  I’m doing a “365” project, which means I will be taking (editing and posting) a photo each day.  Photography has become such a huge part of my life in this past year. I think that getting in touch with my creativity behind (and sometimes in front of) the camera has been transformative for me. It has also brought me an amazing tribe of women who encourage and inspire me on a constant basis.

In gratitude for all that has come my way in the past year and wishing for the grace to welcome what’s to come here is photo 1/365.

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in 365, Photo projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 1/365

  1. wtienken says:

    Yay, Debra! I’m so excited for your adventure this year. I absolutely LOVE that last shot of you and the cake. It looks like you’re wishing for something REALLY good 🙂

  2. Lesley says:

    What a beautiful post Deb! Thank you for sharing authentic you. Great pic too 🙂

  3. t says:

    awesome!!

  4. Karen says:

    I love that picture of you..and I want a cake for MY birthday next year!!!

  5. Debra says:

    Aw, thanks y’all. Cake for everyone!

  6. Al says:

    I can’t tell if you’re making a wish or inhaling the peaceful aura around you. Looks joyous either way <33

  7. love this! i’ve been a bit behind on catching your blog but so glad i made it over for this post! can’t wait to see what the next year brings. it’s sure to be a fun ride!

  8. jo says:

    I just founf your blog and I like the way you think. I’ll be back.

Leave a Reply

