Summer on a Plate

A couple of weeks ago I was reading Orangette, as I do regularly, and she had posted about strawberry shortcake. Unfortunately with the delayed growing season this year I had yet to see any local strawberries at the market so I filed it away. In fact, I tweeted that I would be making it as soon as the local strawberries came in. You see, I am a fiend for summer berries. Generally fruit isn’t my thing but give me a summer berry and I’m a happy girl.

Last week I picked up the first of the local organic strawberries of the season.

 Gorgeous, right? These were awesome strawberries. I took a bunch to the park for a little Canada Day picnic and while riding my bike home I decided that I HAD to make the shortcake. I’m so glad that I did.

I’m counting this as one of my 500 desserts for my Life List but I must confess that I’ve had it for breakfast. More than once.  It’s summer on a plate.

Strawberry Shortcake (adapted from Orangette)

The measurements below are halved from the original recipe

2 cups all purpose flour
1 Tbs baking powder
scant 1/2 tsp salt
3 Tbs sugar
6 Tbs butter, cold and cubed
3/4 cup (plus a little) whipping cream

2 1/2 cup berries (I used strawberries but any would do… or maybe a combination)
sugar (to taste)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

This dough comes together really, really easily.

Whisk the dry ingredients together, add the butter cubes and work them in with your hands until you have a sandy consistency. Pour the cream over top and work in with a fork. Don’t overmix. Dough should come together enough to be picked up out of the bowl. If it’s too dry, add a little more cream.

Turn dough out onto a cutting board and shape into a rough disk. cut into 6 triangles and shape with your hands until they are about an inch thick. Lay them out on a parchment-covered cookie sheet with some space between.

Bake for 15 minutes, turning the baking sheet back to front half-way through.

Slice the tops off the strawberries and slice the larger ones in half (about 1/2 cup per shortcake). Mix in a bowl with some sugar, to taste. Let stand for at least 15 minutes.

They can be served warm or at room temperature. Slice them in half horizontally with a serrated knife (be gentle!).

Put the bottom half of the shortcake on the plate, spoon berries on top and then top with the shortcake top. You can add whip cream before adding the top but I didn’t have enough cream to make it and frankly, if you have good, sweet berries, you don’t really need it (unless you really do, in which case go right ahead!).

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in 365, 500 Desserts, Life List and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer on a Plate

  1. Heidi says:

    delicious! Have you read her book A Homemade Life? it has the best banana bread recipe ever…

Leave a Reply

