(Pola)Roid Week

This is my first Roid Week and no, I don’t need cream for that. Roid week happens a couple of times a year and it’s all about Polaroid enthusiasts coming together to share their work and their love of the medium.  Check out some of the genius in the gallery here.

When I picked up my Polaroid SX-70 (on EBay) I also ordered some film from The Impossible Project, who are re-engineering film for old Polaroid cameras. God love them.

My adventures with my lovely Pola have been frustrating at times. The film is temperamental and I have yet to get the right sense of how light works with my camera, not to mention focus issues (perhaps I should’ve started with a more automatic type of camera). That said, I’m so drawn the the colours and the soft edges that you get with Polaroid that I am willing to learn by trial and error (even though each “error” costs me about $3 in film!).

The shot above was my first success and I hope to burn through less film as I go along. I’m definitely not giving up on digital. I still love what I can do with my “big” camera. But the Polaroid is a completely different way of shooting. Composition is king since there is no going back to fix things in post-processing. Patience is also king because the film needs to develop upside down for several minutes before it can be exposed to light. Very different from the click and peek of digital photography.

So I’ll be sharing more Polaroids as we go along but here are my Roid Week submissions so far

 

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to (Pola)Roid Week

  1. Meg says:

    So true, a costly learning process but the deferred pleasure of light and focus coming together and the dreamy feel of the image are quite wonderful! In many ways it brings back the sense of wonder in those childhood years – the heyday of Polaroid.

  2. I totally missed Roid week. I just shot my first pack of film and it was a total waste!!! I assumed it was just like the old polaroid film and shot away…only to end up with garbage. I thought it was my little dark/light knob! luckily i got online and ended up at the impossible project’s website and realized the error of my ways. I have one last pack (PX 100 silver shade) and hope to shoot with it when it isn’t so hot out…wish me luck!!!

  3. hi there, trial and error IS the best way to learn. these look very groovy.

    and happy belated 42!

  4. Pingback: A slow old-school alternative to August Break « The Double Life of Mrs M

  5. Pingback: A slow old-school alternative to August Break

Leave a Reply

