Blueberry-Raspberry Pound Cake

As I was booting up to write this post I was wondering whether I could add this to the 500 Desserts tally. I’m torn because this isn’t the first time that I’ve made this cake. In fact, I’ve made this cake many, many times. This IS the first time I’ve made it since I started the 500 Desserts though. Also, while it is cake, we didn’t eat it for dessert. This morning the cake was the perfect accompaniment to brunch with friends.

Qualifying dessert or not, this cake is a winner. It may look humble but the flavour is fantastic. You may look at it and feel the need to adorn it with iced or whipped cream. Go ahead if you must but this cake doesn’t need it. This cake is great all on its own. It’s dense and buttery, with hits of raspberry and blueberry – at their best in Ontario at this time of the year – but what really elevates this cake from your regular bundt is the addition of Kirsch. It’s great. So great in fact that you might find yourself heading to the kitchen again and again to cut off piece after piece that you eat out of your hand.

The recipe for this cake comes from Orangette. It’s on her website at that link and also in her book. Interestingly, the book version has TWICE the amount of butter as the web version. That’s FIVE sticks of butter. Now I’ve made it (and loved it) both ways. For today’s version I split the difference, both because I find using more than one box of butter in one cake to be a bit obscene and also because if I use 5 sticks it kind of overflows my food processor. Whether you use 2 1/2 sticks, 5 sticks or 3 3/4 sticks as I did, do yourself a favour and make this cake. Don’t worry about investing in the Kirsch. I’ll bet you’ll be making this cake many, many times.

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blueberry-Raspberry Pound Cake

  1. This cake looks awesome, Debra – Thanks for the tip!

    Nathan

Leave a Reply

