Picturing Myself There

Well, I’ve processed all of the photos from my great California adventure but I’m definitely not really ready for re-entry into my regular life. I’ve found it hard to articulate my Camp Shutter Sisters experience into a post but I will say that it was an amazing few days. I’m really glad that I was able to keep vacationing after Camp as it helped me to keep that experience with me a little longer.

Of course I took a ton of photos while I was on vacation. What’s unique about this trip is the number of self portraits that I took while I was away. By literally putting myself in the picture I’ve added a new dimension to my holiday snaps. Plus, I had a blast taking them.

There was no real sunshine to be had down at the beach in Santa Barbara so I decided to play around under the pier.

Playing with self portraiture in front of graffiti murals is a trick I learned from Viv in You Are Your Own Muse. This is in Santa Barbara.

This one is in an awesome alley of graffiti murals in the Mission in San Francisco. This photo is a bit of an oops. I set the timer and ran over to get in the photo, then once it was taken I realized that my camera had slid off its perch on my bag and was on a ridiculous tilt. In the end though I love the tilt. It kind of looks like I’m holding onto the wall for dear life as the world turns.

This one is from the same alley. These words caught my eye and I just had to capture this. I have to tell you it took many, many tries to get this one!

And this one just encapsulates the vibe of my entire trip. Chillin’ in the sunshine looking at the pretty.

p.s. I fell totally in love with San Francisco. The wannabe bohemian artist in me wants to move there really, really badly.

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Picturing Myself There

  1. Lorna says:

    Absolutely beautiful photography Deb..good job

    Lorna

  2. urban muser says:

    love all your selfies! the happy accident tilted shot is great.

  3. Hi Debra- I’m doing the Photo Meditations online class and bookmarked everyones blogs so I could see what people were photographing and writing about. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your self portraits. When I opened the page and saw the photo with your legs and all that space I was in awe. Fantastic! I’ll be back for more!

    Michel

  4. Catalina says:

    Love your pictures!!!!

    (come from Photo Meditations as well 🙂 )

  5. Jeff says:

    Wonderful series of images. Your jumping photo is great!

Leave a Reply

