Twelve for Eleven

2011 was a pretty great year. I travelled, I Unravelled, I made new friends online and off and I sought to connect with my world with a renewed sense of wonder and gratitude. Photography was a huge part of all that, just as it’s become a huge part of me. Here are the 12 photos that sum up my 2011.

In January I travelled to South Africa, spent a LOT of time on a bus, met up with a lovely friend, and celebrated the beauty and abundance of the universe.

In February I signed up for my second course with Tracey ClarkΒ and did some dabbling in self portraiture.

In March I went wandering in search of some photogenic scenery.

In April I got to meet beautiful baby Madison and take her picture.

By May 15th, just when we thought Spring would never come, the tulips were FINALLY beginning to bloom.

In June I was my own muse.

In July I fell deeply in love with Polaroid and captured my two favourite blondies with my SX-70. *sigh*

In August I said goodbye to an old friend and hello to a new one. SHINY!

In September I embraced the everlasting Summer weather with a picnic in the park and some Polaroid 600 film.

In October I found the sweet spot, both in my borrowed Lensbaby and among my Camp Sisters.

In November I made a wish on 11.11.11 with a community of wishers.

In December I celebrated joy and magic with people I love.

How are you remembering 2011 and looking ahead to 2012?

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Twelve for Eleven

  1. Chris says:

    Happy New Year to you, Debra. I love these photos! I hope 2012 is a year full of dreams come true for you. πŸ™‚

  2. Charlene says:

    A lovely year in review!

  3. Siobhan Wolf says:

    What a wonderful way to recapture the year! I love this idea. Will definitely keep it in mind for the year to come.

    Happy New Year to you! I hope that the coming year brings you even more joy and beauty. I look forward to seeing what you will capture.

  4. mosey (kim) says:

    what a fabulous wrap-up. I may steal your idea. πŸ™‚ Happy New Year, sweet Debra!

  5. This is THE best way to wrap up a year that I’ve seen! I love it! and like Kim, I might steal the idea…although I know the panache that shines through in your images can never be imitated!

  6. Debra says:

    Thanks so much everyone! Kim and Laura, I’ve stolen this idea from other bloggers so please feel free to join in the fun with your own versions!!

  7. Since meeting you in the Unravelling E-space, it has been a joy following your year in pictures. I look forward to more in 2012 and hopefully a meeting in person…

  8. I may be stealing your idea too πŸ™‚ What a great capture of the year!! xx

  9. Kim Klassen says:

    oh this is just so lovely…. thank you for this inspired replay of your life….

    it’s BEAUTIFUL….

    Happy New Year… xo, Kim

  10. Heidi says:

    What a wonderful recap of 2011…remember you chose “Open” as your word of the year? you certainly were open to adventure in the last 12 months…here’s to a wonderful 2012!

    Cheers~ Heidi

  11. Cyndy says:

    brilliant…just like you!
    Happy 2012
    Cyndy

  12. Kate Daniel says:

    wow – you had a full year! I missed out on Shutter Sisters camp this year…but one day, I will be there! btw, I hopped onto your blog from 52 Photo Projects…but I think I recognize your name from Picture Inspiration perhaps… anyway, happy to be here! you’ve got some amazing shots πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

