Citified

Gladstone Hotel

I love a big city. I spent the weekend hanging out in Toronto and at one point on Saturday, while waiting on the subway platform, I realized that I was just so energized. I know that I tend to feel this way in most cities — London, Paris, San Francisco. There’s something about the busyness and bustle, mixed in with the noise and the sense that opportunities are everywhere, that gives me a buzz. Everything seems more vibrant in a big city.

Toronto colours

In the nine years since I left Toronto I have only been back a handful of times; mostly for work. So when Susannah said that she’d be making a Toronto stop on her book tour, I decided to make a weekend of it.

Happening

I stayed in the funkiest neighbourhood I know, in one of the city’s coolest hotels. It was all pretty rockstar.

Gladstone breakfast

I wandered with my camera.

Brunch scene

Festive

I met new friends and reconnected with dear ones.

I shopped. I ate.

Izakaya + two food photogs = heaven

I soaked up as much of the city goodness as I could.

Doorway

Peeling

As I drove home down the highway, watching the skyscrapers fade from my rearview mirror, I felt both nostalgic and energized. And counting the days until my next big city adventure.

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Citified

  1. I love this post! Not only for the gorgeous photos but also for the very gentle, easy way you have of writing about the images you chose. Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

