Dream. Life.

I read about Marché St. George in Canadian House and Home magazine a couple of years ago and something in my gut whispered “This should be your life”. I know that shelter magazines are designed to inspire envy and feelings of “oh, I would love to have that life” but this was different.

“This should be your life”.

It was more than the beautiful store that inspired me. It was the lifestyle of the owners, who lived upstairs and used the store space for personal gatherings. It was the sense of community that they intended to grow up around the store (and judging from things like the Kinfolk dinner, they have). I felt it. I loved it. And I could picture myself doing it in my own community. At the time I cut out the article and pasted it into my journal.

These days it’s not an active dream. I’m not strategizing around it or working towards it. But it’s there. My maybe dream life.

I finally got to visit Marché St. George on this trip home to Vancouver and they very kindly allowed me to take some photos while I was there.

Want to join us on the August Break?
August Break 2012

About Debra Cowie

Debra is a photographer and visual storyteller based in Ottawa, Canada. She is an explorer at heart, whose passion for photography was born in travel and has been carried with her to more than 30 countries so far. Debra is also an avid cook and baker and much of her current work focuses on food styling and photography in her serendipitously beautifully lit kitchen. She has flirted with Polaroid and 35mm film photography but her true love is her DSLR (aka "Boyfriend Mark").
This entry was posted in Photo projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dream. Life.

  1. Briana says:

    Aww that sounds amazing! Coming from a family that isn’t so keen on community, I would love the opportunity to build one of my own. Sounds like beautiful lifestyle to me!

    • Debra says:

      Having moved far away from home I’ve kind of had to build up a new family close-by. I would love to extend that out and become more immersed into a community of creatives. It would be something special to create a space where that could happen. Maybe someday…

Leave a Reply

